Posted in Home Education

12 Crafts of Christmas Challenge

I challenge you to join us and take part in the 12 Crafts of Christmas challenge with your kids.

12-craftsmm

Christmas is approaching and I’m already getting into the festive spirit. The glitter, the ribbons, the wreaths, the decorations, the cheesy jumpers, the lights…. I can’t wait!

I want to make this year a memorable one so I’ve been thinking ahead and planning this Decembers activities. The kids love crafts and making things so I’ve been searching the web for lots of arty fun. But that’s when I realised.

I was looking for things that THEY could do when I should be looking for things WE could do together.

Credit: Little Illuminations 

So, I’ve decided to set myself a fun Christmas Craft Challenge with the kids.

I will participate in 12 separate sessions and do some fun, informal crafts with the kids – providing the perfect opportunity for lots of chatting. We will do either a group craft or individual crafts but I will always join in and make something too. Zip loves to talk and it is inevitable that we will spend the whole time talking about something or another so I thought why not take this time to learn about Christmas too?

The kids won’t even know they are learning!

I’d love you to join us!…

Credit: Create Studio

I’d love other families to join in our craft experience and spend time together, relax, have fun and take time out to just talk. I hope to get parents everywhere crafting with their kids and show how easy and fun it can be to learn something together.

 

So go on, pull the glitter out, grab the glue and make something fabulous with the kids. I can’t wait to see what you make!

Directions

  1. You can start the Challenge at anytime.

    These Christmas Tree Brownies are SO EASY and they look adorable! Wouldn't they make a great treat to take to a Christmas party?!
    Credit: One Little Project
  2. Make one item for each category.

     

  3. Makes must incorporate the assigned material in some way.

  4. Choose a Christmas topic to prompt a discussions with the kids.

  5. Craft and chat with your child / children on 12 separate occasions before Christmas.

  6. Grown-ups must participate alongside or with the children.

  7. Once you finish each craft showcase your family’s creations on our 12 Crafts of Christmas Facebook group or

  8. You can tweet us with the hashtag #12CraftsofChristmas and let me know where your conversations led.

  9. Challenge at least 3 of your friends to join you.

  10. The 12th and final craft must be completed before 24th December 2016.

But most importantly have fun and enjoy the time together ❤

Merry (early) Christmas everyone.

love REOLife

xx

12-craftsmm

Further help

  1. You can craft one thing together as a family or each complete your own craft. See my Pinterest board for some inspiration.

  2. You don’t need to craft on 12 consecutive days and can make the time whenever you like, as long as you finish the 12th craft before Christmas.

  3. Prepare the materials you need for the session in advance.

  4. Read up on your chosen topic if necessary.

  5. It is OK if you don’t know anything about the topic as it is a chance for you to learn something new together.

  6. Don’t worry if you prompt a conversation about Christmas traditions but end discussing skateboarding techniques or Youtubers. Go with the flow and just enjoy the time.

  7. Join our Facebook group for support, ideas and general Christmas Crafting chat.

 

Author:

Mum. Home educator. Blogger.

3 thoughts on “12 Crafts of Christmas Challenge

  1. Cannot wait to start with my 4y old whose a very reluctant crafter, this is a brilliant idea and l hope lots of family and friends with children also get involved

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment