Posted in Home Education, Printables, Uncategorized

Great Britain

‘Create a continent box ‘ has been on my to-do list for over 6 months. They are such a fun and interactive way to introduce children to different places and cultures. Each box represents one of the seven continents and you fill it with various items for the child to explore. However, I just haven’t got around to it. Where would I even start?

I recently stumbled upon an amazing group which organises international exchanges between Montessori families. I signed up there and then. Within a week I had been matched with my first swap; a lovely family in France. Perfect! Zips had been learning a little French so this would be a great way to access more language materials. I decided that this was it. This is where I would start preparing our continent boxes!

To take this further we are going to mark out each place we receive something from on a large world map. Eventually it will be filled with friends from all over the world. We will also have a small ‘party’ to celebrate and explore each new place when we receive a parcel. The kids will love it!

The exchange idea is simple. Gather a number of items that reflect your country, based on the interest of the other family. They will also do the same for you. Once you have finished your collection you both post them out by a set deadline. I sent mine today!!

I’m so excited to share this post with you. This is the collection I put together for our new friends in France. I hope it inspires you to create your own continent boxes or participate in an exchange. So without further ado, here is the contents of our first ever exchange.


 

Large tea towel printed with map of Great Britain.

unnamed-26


 

I purchased these cards from the Post Office. They are photographic cards of my local area.

unnamed-8


I love these London City Keyrings rings so much that I bought some for our own box. The key chains could easily be removed if you prefer, although I left them on

unnamed-23


 

Great British Landmarks A5 colouring book.

unnamed-12


London Street Sign Magnets

unnamed-4


You can’t beat a bit of pub grub! One of the children enjoys cooking so I included this small recipe book with illustrations. I found it at my local Tesco store.

unnamed-11


Small selection of stamps.

unnamed-16


How cute is this beat bobby badge?

unnamed-6


It would have been rude to exclude tea from this swap. We drink almost three-times as much tea each year than anywhere else in the world! I also included a special treat.

unnamed0


Passport holder.

unnamed-5


London ABC fold out book.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


The best pencil in the world, obviously, because its from Yorkshire 😉 I got this from my local Works store. They have a selection of local souvenirs. Check out your store to see what they have.

unnamed-22


This cool little bell

81AWhjt60gL._SL1500_.jpg


Union Jack Locket

unnamed-14


 

In addition to gathering a some items I also made or found some cool resources and activities. Like this money activity. I have provided some real British coins and some play British notes. I made some mini three-part cards based on these ones, and simply edited them to my requirements.

unnamed-17


I made this very simple wipe clean activity to encourage discussions about time zones. unnamed-24


I made these two simple puzzles with control charts which are available to download for free. The stamp is split into 8 sections and the Union Jack is split into 16.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


I made these cute mini flags by printing flags and gluing them to wooden sticks. They would be great for sandcastles.

unnamed-9


Leaflets from the local area.

unnamed-15


So thats it. My collection of things from around great Britain. There was also a Union Jack flag and a crown, but I forgot to snap some individual pictures.

unnamed-1

I hope this post has inspired you to start your own collections.

If you are going to be shopping around quite a bit, you might find My other blog post How to get free money really helpful.

Keep checking back for updates 🙂

Author:

Mum. Home educator. Blogger.

One thought on “Great Britain

Leave a Reply

